Final blog post

                 The first project that I made was a pinch pot.For this having trouble with forming the shape that i wanted and also struggle with smoothing the piece.In the past, when making pinch pots I would always have a hard time constructing them, the walls would be thin and out of shape and the pinch pot would from cracks as well. But now that I have more experience in making pinch pots my pots are now smooth the walls are somewhat thick and cracks will no longer from. In the past I remember observing my classmates  in how they would construct their pinch pot, like how they would smooth their pot and from their pots into the shape that the wanted.By doing this I learn many new technique and tools to use for make pinch pots so that I can become a better artist in making pinch pots.  

     For my utilitarian piece I came across some challenges and was forced to change the entire piece.The body of the piece was suppose was to be more rounded, the foot of the piece I wanted to have an hexagon like shape for the foot, and the handle and the lip of the piece was also changed as well.I tried to used the wire tool to create the shape of the foot and the paddle tool to shape the body of the piece.For the handled I rolled out a coil and tried to shape the handle  to look like the one in my sketch.overall I did have a great time making the piece. 

 

My  huge center piece project was one of the projects that I had the most fun in constructing.For this project I decided to create something BIG so I made a oversize center piece for a table.constructing the piece wasn’t hard but it was a long process because of the piece being a two-in-one project. The foot was easy and took shorter time to make but the bowl took some time.For the bowl I had to use another bowl to model and shape-out the from that I wanted wait for it to dried and than smooth out the piece.When the time had finally came to add the handles to the bowl I thought that the handles would fall off because of how heavy it was but with the help  of Ms.A the handle stayed in one place and was great full for the help.   

 

For this next project I wanted to create something that has meaning so I made a portrait to send a message. I sculpted a portrait of a black female with a hole in her chest in indicate the pain that she is suffering form. At first I thought that it was going to be hard be when Ms. A showed me a video of how to construct the portrait the project turn out to simple. Using slabs to build up the chest all the away to the head this project was something that I enjoyed making.What inspired me to create this piece was that fact that it was Black history mouth but also to inspire other black females as well.I chose not to glaze the piece in glaze that would show that she has black skin because I want people to visualize what she looks like with their imagination.   

 

 

For my last project I also wanted to send a message to the viewers. The message the I wanted to send is a message of spreading love no matter what race you are and what you believe in. I constructed a coiled bowl for the body of the bowl the hands I used some thick slabs the craved out the two hands then for the lid of the tea pot I made a circle out of a slab. Added the handles then I had to ask Ms.A for some help.I glazed the two hands one black one tan to show us coming together for the body of the tea pot I glazed it blue to represent the world. Having the hands wrap around the tea pot ( the world) show that the world needs love and not hate. 

 

Leave a Reply

Skip to toolbar